Back to All Events


  • Bohemian National Hall 321 East 73rd St New York, NY USA (map)
Aeolus Quartet, photo by Deborah Feingold

Aeolus Quartet, photo by Deborah Feingold

Aeolus Quartet curates and performs a program which features, at its core, Bohemian composer Heinrich Biber's Passacaglia, the last of his renowned 17th-century Rosary sonatas. The enigmatic journey through the joyful, sorrowful, and glorious mysteries in the Biber Rosary sonatas is reflected in Osvaldo Golijov’s Tenebrae and Beethoven’s monumental Op. 131, and Passacaglia provides the inspiration for Alexandra Bryant's world premiere, Mysterium. The multi-award winning Aeolus, founded in 2008, is the quartet-in-residence at All Souls Church in New York City, performing as part of Musica Viva NY under the artistic direction of Alejandro Hernandez-Valdez.


DAHA attendees save $10 with code DAHA19 when you purchase on-line here.

General admission $40. Students $30. Tickets will be available at the door.

Aeolus Quartet:

Nicholas Tavani & Rachel Shapiro, violins
Caitlin Lynch, viola
Alan Richardson, cello

Praised by the Baltimore Sun for combining “smoothly meshed technique with a sense of spontaneity and discovery,” the Aeolus Quartet is committed to presenting time-seasoned masterworks and new cutting-edge works to diverse audiences with equal freshness, dedication, and fervor. Formed in 2008, the Quartet is comprised of violinists Nicholas Tavani and Rachel Shapiro, violist Caitlin Lynch, and cellist Alan Richardson. The all-American quartet has received prizes at nearly every major competition in the United States and performed across the globe with showings "worthy of a major-league quartet" (Scott Cantrell, Dallas Morning News). They were the 2013-2015 Graduate Resident String Quartet at the Juilliard School, and they currently make their home in New York City. The Quartet’s 2018-19 season includes a collaboration with the Smithsonian’s Freer Gallery of Art featuring dancers from the Mark Morris Dance Group, a residency with the Chamber Music Society of Detroit, and extensive touring throughout the United States. In summer 2019, the Quartet will be featured at the Artosphere Festival presented by the Walton Arts Center.


  • Osvaldo Golijov: Tenebrae

  • Heinrich Biber: Passacaglia

  • Alexandra Bryant: Mysterium (inspired by Biber’s Passacaglia, World premiere)

  • Intermission

  • Ludwig van Beethoven: String Quartet No. 14 in C-sharp minor, Op. 131

This event is co-produced by Dvořák American Heritage Association (DAHA) with Musica Viva NY, with support from BBLA.