Back to All Events

Dvořák: The Chamber Music Survey

  • Bohemian National Hall 321 East 73rd Street New York, NY, 10021 United States (map)

Marking the 175th Anniversaries of both Dvořák and the New York Philharmonic, DAHA launches a multi-year concert series presenting all of Dvořák’s chamber works featuring NY Philharmonic musicians and friends. This concert includes a Dvořák masterpiece: Viola Quintet in E flat Op. 97, the “American,” as well as two rarely heard works: the Four Romantic Pieces for Violin and Piano Op. 75 (Violin and Harp transcription) and Trio in Four Movements for Two Violins and Viola Op. 75a B 149.Series organized by violinist Laura Jean Goldberg.

Reception and viewing of the Dvořák Room exhibit “Superstars Together: Dvořák and the New York Philharmonic at 175.”

Celebrating the 175th Anniversaries of both Dvořák and the New York Philharmonic, this exhibit will feature archival highlights from the life and work of Czech composer Antonín Dvořák, including the original signed contract that brought Dvořák to America in 1892.  Also showcased will be facsimilie documents from the New York Philharmonic’s premiere of the “New World” Symphony in December 1893.  Antonín Dvořák born September 8, 1841; New York Philharmonic founded April 2, 1842.  Curated by Majda Kallab Whitaker, DAHA.

Pay at door $20; Seniors, Students, Czech Center Club Members $10. 

Supported by Bohemian Benevolent & Literary Association.  

Learn about the New York Philharmonic’s Dvořák programming and New World Initiative at

Photo Credits:  Image of Dvořák by William Spiess, NY, circa 1893, DAHA Archive; New York Philharmonic Honorary Membership Certificate awarded to Dvořák, 1894, by Eva Heyd for DAHA, courtesy of Antonin Dvořák III.


Earlier Event: September 12
Of Special Interest to Friends of DAHA
Later Event: October 23
Celebrating Dvořák & His Circle